Super Simple Stir-fry

Ok, so truthfully, this is probably a stir-fry wannabe. I don’t have a drop of Asian blood in my body, and most of my attempts at cooking Chinese food have been total failures. However, a few years ago, I came up with this concoction on a whim, and we liked it so much it became a staple! I like it because it’s easy – and since it includes grains, meat, and veggies, I don’t really have to fix anything else to have a complete dinner! That’s always a win!

You will need:
– Your choice of chicken breast, cut into chunks, or stew meat (well, any steak-type cut will work, but stew meat comes already cut into chunks for you!)
– soy sauce
– Montreal steak seasoning
– your favorite teriyaki sauce or baste
– your choice of bell peppers
– onion
– spaghetti noodles
– olive oil

Sorry, I don’t use measurements! I typically fix this for two people using a one-pound package of stew meat, half of each pepper, half an onion, and enough pasta for the two of us (and maybe a little extra for my lunch the next day).

1. Cut the bell peppers and onion into bite-sized chunks. (I typically buy a package of tri-color “stoplight” bell peppers and use half for one batch and freeze the other half for a future batch of stir-fry. I also use about 1/4 to 1/2 of the onion for one batch.)
2. Sauté the peppers and onion in olive oil in a skillet. When thoroughly cooked (soft and a little browned), remove from skillet and drain on a plate covered with a paper towel.
3. While peppers/onion are sautéing, start heating the water to boil the pasta. I’m sure you can handle boiling some pasta without much help from me. 🙂
4. Once peppers are done and removed from skillet, add a little more olive oil and your meat to the same skillet (fewer dishes!). Sprinkle with Montreal steak seasoning for some added kick, along with a little soy sauce to keep the stir-fry from being too sweet. Be sure to flip the meat after a few minutes. If cooking steak, you can cook until it is as done as you want it – rare, medium, well, whatever. Just be sure to completely cook your chicken! (To be honest, this isn’t the best way to cook the meat in order for it to be really tender, but I do it out a sheer laziness. A GREAT way to do this is to wrap the meat, seasoning, and soy sauce in a foil packet and set on the grill for 10 minutes. Cooked throughout and tender!)
5. When the pasta is cooked to your liking (I DON’T like al dente), drain and put back in pot. Add peppers/onion, meat, and enough teriyaki sauce to coat all the components.
6. Dig in!
20130605_181909
Doesn’t that look yummy? (Don’t make fun of my plating – or lack thereof!)

Like I said, this is technically a stir-fry wannabe. However, either we or I don’t like many of the vegetables typically used in stir-fry and I don’t use a typical stir-fry sauce for any other recipes (I do, however, frequently use teriyaki sauce).

Some variations you could try:
– Other vegetables
– Soy sauce instead of teriyaki for a saltier dish
– Other meats, like shrimp
– Whatever you want!

Leave a Reply

