Toddler Muffin Recipe Tweaked

I usually stick to recipes when I’m cooking. There are few recipes I make that don’t include measurements. However, I do a lot of tweaking with recipes! I previously posted a list of finger foods I give my munchkin (although that list has grown as he’s gotten older and gained more teeth!), but I want to share several tweaks I made to one recipe: his toddler muffins.

The original recipe is posted here and calls for the following:

Here’s your actual ingredients list (This recipe should make 12 large muffins):
1 cup ground rolled oats
1 cup flour (I used wheat)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 cup milk (I used vanilla soy milk)
1 ripe banana mashed
1/2 cup applesauce
1 egg
1/2 cup dried blueberries (I actually did 1/4 cup blueberries and 1/4 cup dried chopped apricots).

First tweak: the flour. She tells you to take that 1 cup of ground oats and make yourself one cup of oat flour with a food processor. So… apparently my food processor is, well… cheap. I couldn’t get the floury consistency, no matter how long I did it. I used it anyway the first time, but I wonder if the texture is part of the reason Munchkin refused them at first. So, this time, I bought organic oat flour from my favorite health food store!

Second tweak: I did entirely oat flour. This child gets plenty of regular flour with the breads and pastas he eats; a little extra oat flour won’t hurt him.

Third tweak: I doubled the cinnamon. Munchkin LOVES cinnamon, and it’s good for him, so it can’t hurt to have a little extra!

Fourth tweak: I didn’t use regular applesauce. The first time I made this, I bought regular (unsweetened) applesauce… and the rest of the jar went to waste. I guess I could have fed it to Munchkin… but I was giving him actual cooked apples without all the added junk! So, this time, I bought a 4 oz. jar of baby food apples (same thing, right?). Technically, I bought an apple/prune puree… let’s just say I have to purposefully keep Munchkin regular… Plus, this recipe has a banana in it, and bananas stop him up faster than anything else in this world!

Fifth tweak: I did not use dried blueberries. I keep the real thing (bought fresh, then frozen at home) on hand all the time because Munchkin LOVES blueberries. I’m sure he could fill up on just blueberries at meal time… Just remember that any time you add fruit to a batter, coat it with flour first to keep it from falling to the bottom. I actually left my blueberries frozen for this so I wouldn’t have to worry about smashing them as I stirred them in.

So, my recipe:
2 cups oat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup milk
1 ripe banana mashed
1/2 cup applesauce (4 oz. jar of baby apple puree – any blend)
1 egg
1/2 cup fresh blueberries, coated in flour

The instructions are the same:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Stir all dry ingredients in one bowl; stir all wet ingredients in another bowl. Add the wet to the dry and stir until blended.

Fold in blueberries.

Both times I’ve made this, I’ve gotten at least 15 muffins. I’m not sure how she only got 12… I think I got 17 last time and 16 this time. A tip I learned as a child: if you don’t use up every cup in a muffin tin, be sure to put some water in the empty ones. I think it has something to do with not destroying your pan… (If it’s anything like my microwave, I nearly broke it by accidentally turning it on – I meant to use the timer – when nothing was inside… it smelled funny…)

Bake for 16 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

And considering the difference in appearance between my first attempt and this attempt, I’m sticking with store-bought oat flour… these at least look like normal muffins!

image

I think he approves of the changes! 😉

Leave a Reply

