Let Them Get Dirty, Momma.

I’ve realized something recently: I have a hard time letting my munchkin get dirty.

I don’t understand why, but I’ve always hated the idea of letting Munchkin play in the dirt. I’ve always been a little unhappy when he gets food on his clothes or in his hair. I just want him clean.

But here’s why I don’t understand it: I was raised in the country. I ran barefoot through the grass. I made mud pies. I had a sandbox and played in the dirt. I waded in the nearby creek and hiked up the rocky hills. And do you know what one of my favorite childhood memories is? The time my best friend and I decided to go wading in the creek. Even though it was nearly winter and everything was muddy from the rain, we each put on a pair of my dad’s rain/mud boots and clomped out to the creek. Then came the fun… with all the thick mud, my friend’s foot got stuck. When we tried to get it out, her foot came out and the boot stayed in! So we kept trying… and she fell in. Yep, cold, wet mud from the waist down. And of course, we had to hose off before we were allowed inside… with very cold water… right before winter… in Kansas. I’m not so sure we had fun at the time, but I certainly enjoy reminiscing about it now!

So why is it so hard for me to accept that my little boy will one day enjoy playing in the mud just as much – if not more? No clue. But I do know this: if I don’t let him get dirty, I’m robbing him of happiness. Munchkin is most happy when he is either rough-housing or playing outside. I can’t take that away from him. I don’t want to take that away from him. I don’t want to rob him of those great childhood memories that involve getting filthy.

So it’s time for me to step back, let him be a boy, and let him play in the mud.
image
Yes, I know he’s not very dirty and just mostly wet, but the fact that he needs a bath after playtime is a huge step for me!

After all, it nothing a bathtub and a washing machine can’t take care of.

Leave a Reply

