“Child” Approved Cooked Carrots

If your child is anything like mine, he did a great job eating those pureed veggies as a baby, but is becoming much more picky as a toddler. To be honest, it doesn’t help matters that my husband and I aren’t big veggie eaters – the only veggies you’ll find on our dinner plates are green beans, corn (if you count that as a veggie), and potatoes (if you count that too). Sure, Hubby will eat other veggies, but I won’t – so I don’t fix them. Unfortunately, that means Munchkin has had far less exposure to veggies since he started eating whatever we’re having, and the small number of possibilities means he’s getting burned out on some things.

Recently, my mother-in-law fixed him Julia Child’s recipe for peas and carrots, and he ate it for her. Well, imagine my lack of surprise when he wouldn’t eat it for me… So I decided to experiment. I took Julia’s recipe to cook the peas and carrots, but then I added a twist. Munchkin loves sweet things (well, naturally sweet – he loves fruit, but he’s not a huge cake fan – which I’m okay with!), and he loves savory as well. I decided to combine both tastes, and I came up with a recipe he likes! Well… he likes the carrots. Apparently he’s wised up and decided that peas are disgusting (which is fine… I would gag over the smell when I fed him pureed peas…). But, it’s a super-easy recipe, “Child” approved (see what I did there? 🙂 haha), I can make any size batch I want, and it gets one more veggie in him!

If you search the Internet for Julia Child’s peas and carrots recipe, here is what you’ll find:

Ingredients:
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup diced carrots
3 tablespoons butter

Preparation:
1. In a small sauce pan over medium heat, sauté the peas and carrots in the butter for 10 minutes.
2. Just cover with water and continue simmering until the water has nearly disappeared – about 10 more minutes.

How easy is that?! Problem is, it was too bland for my palette-picky child. So guess I did? Towards the end (with a couple minutes left to simmer), I threw in some garlic powder and honey. I unfortunately can’t give you exact measurements, because it will all be to taste. I stirred it up, let it simmer a couple more minutes, and he gobbled those carrots!
image

One thing to keep in mind – if you do a smaller amount of veggies, the simmering time will be less. I snatched this off the stove almost too late because I was going by the 10-minute mark, even though I’d made maybe 1/2 a cup total.
image

Doesn’t that look yummy? Well, if you like peas and cooked carrots… but he got quite a meal! Organic mac and cheese, cooked cinnamon apples, and honey garlic carrots (and peas… that he refused to even try). Still, at least the carrots are kid-approved, and the peas will be if your kid likes peas anyway!

Final Recipe:
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup chopped carrots
3 tbsp butter
approximately 1/4 tsp garlic powder (to taste)
approximately 4 tbsp honey (to taste)

Preparation:
1. In small sauce pan over medium heat, sauté the veggies in butter for 10 minutes.
2. Just cover with water and continue to simmer.
3. After about 8 minutes, add honey and garlic powder. Continue to simmer until liquid is nearly evaporated (about 2 more minutes).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janice
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 14:32:22

    I guess if he never eats the peas, then the recipe becomes ‘honey garlic carrots’. ( :
    How do you make the organic mac & cheese?

    Reply

    • kaylastanley
      Mar 09, 2014 @ 16:04:20

      It’s a box of Annie’s mac & cheese from the grocery store. They use organic wheat (or rice if you choose that box) for the noodles and real cheese for the sauce.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

